Accéder au contenu principal

Ota en toutes saisons

Avec sa beauté naturelle et ses festivals uniques, l’arrondissement d’Ota est une destination parfaite quelle que soit la période de l’année. Des événements y ont lieu en toutes saisons, pour le plus grand plaisir des visiteurs comme des résidents.

Au Printemps

La floraison des cerisiers a longtemps été le messager du printemps au Japon. Les rives de la rivière Tama sont un excellent endroit pour voir des cerisiers en fleur. On en trouve également dans le jardin traditionnel Shotoen, que vous pourrez par exemple admirer en dînant au restaurant Sakura Garden d’Ikegami. Vous en verrez aussi le long du parcours pédestre qui traverse le village des écrivains de Magome ainsi que dans les parcs locaux, comme le Senzokuike.

En été

La chaleur monte en puissance en été, c’est également le cas des festivals à Ota : feux d’artifice sur les rives de la rivière Tama, courses de bateaux à Heiwajima… Vous pouvez aussi vous promener dans les shotengai, galeries marchandes couvertes, de Mihara ou d’Umeyashiki, ou tester vos limites en faisant de l’accrobranche au parc Heiwa no Mori Koen. Et pour vous rafraîchir, s’il fait trop chaud, vous avez le choix entre la plage, dans le parc Omori Furusato Hamabe, ou le musée Omori Nori.

A l’automne

L’événement phare de l’automne est le festival Ikegami Honmonji Oeshiki, qui a lieu chaque année le deuxième week-end d’octobre pour commémorer la mort du prêtre bouddhiste et érudit, Nichiren. Le festival international d’Ota, à l’aéroport de Haneda, attire également beaucoup de visiteurs qui viennent y découvrir la culture traditionnelle japonaise. En novembre, ne manquez pas les arbres aux couleurs flamboyantes autour de l’étang de Senzokuike, ou les gingkos aux couleurs dorées autour la gare de Den-en-Chofu.

En hiver
Lorsque le temps se rafraîchit, c’est le moment idéal pour profiter des bains publics d’eau chaude de source naturelle d’Ota. Certaines maisons de bains comme Heiwajima Natural Onsen proposent également des soins thermaux, tandis que dans de nombreuses maisons plus modestes, vous vous retrouverez avec des japonais et profiterez du côté social des bains publics. La floraison des pruniers avec ses fleurs roses et blanches est également au programme : vous pourrez en voir notamment autour du temple Ikegami Honmonji. Au Port de Tokyo, vous pourrez également observer de nombreux oiseaux qui viennent passer l’hiver au Japon.

Quelle que soit la période à laquelle vous prévoyez de venir à Ota, plaisirs naturels et activités seront au rendez-vous.

Partager

Skip to main content

Ota in all Seasons

With its natural beauty and its unique festivals, Tokyo’s Ota City is the perfect destination no matter the time of year. Each season hosts a variety of events that will delight both visitors and residents alike.

Spring

Sakura (cherry blossoms) have long been the herald of spring in Japan and the banks of the Tama River are an excellent place to enjoy the blossoms. Cherry blossoms also bloom in the traditional Shotoen Garden, best enjoyed while dining at Ikegami’s Sakura Garden Restaurant. You can even catch beautiful flowers in bloom along the walking route of the Magome Writer’s Village and in local parks such as Senzokuike.

Cherry Blossoms in Ota City

Cherry Blossoms in Ota City

Between March and May each year is the season of Hanami, literally “flower viewing”. This is the tradition of visiting and admiring the beauty of seasonal flowers, namely cherry and plu...

More about: Cherry Blossoms in Ota City

Summer

The heat ramps up in Ota City in the summer, but so does the local schedule of festivals. Enjoy fireworks from the banks of the Tama River or catch a boat race in Heiwajima. Stroll the shotengai (covered shopping arcades) of Mihara or Umeyashiki or test your physical prowess on the ropes course at Heiwa no Mori Koen. Plan a local beach escape to the Omori Furusato Hamabe Park or cool off on a visit to the neighboring Omori Nori Museum.

Summer in Ota City

Autumn

A highlight event of autumn is the Ikegami Honmonji Oeshiki festival, held annually on the second weekend of October to commemorate the death of St Nichiren. The International City Ota Festival at Haneda Airport also attracts large numbers of visitors who are interested in learning more about traditional Japanese culture. In November, don’t miss the stunning foliage around the Senzokuike pond, or the golden ginkgo trees that line the promenades outside Den-en-chofu Station.

Senzoku-Ike Autumn Festival

Senzoku-Ike Autumn Festival

Senzoku-ike is a relaxing park and pond area located in Northern Ota City. Senzoku-Ike is home to several yearly events throughout the season, but one of the best is the Autumn Festival held each y...

More about: Senzoku-Ike Autumn Festival

Winter

As the weather cools off, the winter months are the perfect time to enjoy a soak in one of Ota’s many natural onsen (hot spring baths). Pamper yourself at a full care spa-like Heiwajima Natural Onsen or join the locals for a communal experience in one of the ward’s many smaller bathhouses. Even in winter, you can find a colorful palette in the pink and white plum blossoms that bloom in the garden next to Ikegami Honmonji temple. Or visit the Tokyo Port Wild Bird Park to observe the scores of wintering birds.

No matter when you plan your trip to Tokyo’s Ota City, you’ll find a host of activities and natural delights awaiting your exploration.

Share