跳到主要內容
田園調布

田園調布

抵達東急東橫線的田園調布站就彷彿是進入到了另一個世界。在離開這座華麗又雄偉的車站建築時,才猛然意識到這裡的建築設計、精緻的咖啡廳以及氛圍有多厲害。您馬上就會被這寂靜又平和的氣氛給感染,讓人無法想像自己正在地球上最大型、人口密度又高的城市之一。

高貴的氛圍與優雅,田園調布這座小小的城鎮,不意外地,是在僑民、名人、商業領袖以及政治家之間最熱門的居住地區之一。以東京的「田園城市」廣為人知,這座座落在大田區的城鎮總是在東京最佳居住地的榜上上名列前茅。

這裡也有很有趣的歷史,田園調布是日本傳奇實業家澀澤榮一在上個世紀早期的新構想;並以倫敦的田園都市為模型。因此田園調布總是穩穩地帶種英式的氣氛。

田園調布有許多獨立經營的企業,而這個區域,甚少有知名連鎖名牌,當地人偏好著富有年代感的的本土店家。其中一間商店便是建立於1932年的曙。這家店是傳統日式點心的商店,已以手工製作的紅豆餡和傳統的日式零食寶庫,寵壞了田園調布居民近上百餘年。為了回饋深受當地社群喜愛這件事,曙深知自己在這座城鎮所扮演的角色,並且在驕傲地在二樓的空間製作甜點,之後再拿到一樓的溫暖木造空間販賣。反映了日本的四季,曙也跟著製作季節甜點,像是春天的櫻花口味、秋天的栗子口味。甜點的質地和風格根據季節都會也些許改變,也正是反映出曙對細節上的用心,以及日本的文化。這間店雖然專賣紅豆餡,但也販賣販賣原創的紅豆飯,以及其他牌子的仙貝等小點,讓甜食愛好者一次就能在此滿足。

  • 地址:  東京都大田區田園調布2-51-8
  • 交通方式:  從東急東橫線、東急田園都市線的田園調布站步行1分鐘
  • 營業時間:  9:00 - 18:30
  • 定休日:  星期日
  • 電話:  03-3721-8886
田園調布
田園調布
田園調布

另一間能滿足甜點愛好者的田園調布商店,是山中屋,一間有用餐空間的人氣水果店。山中屋為家族式經營,已經來到第三代,店舖歷史最早可回溯至1930年初。顧客從遙遠的各地前來購買這裡的新鮮水果,以及精緻美麗的甜點。水果果凍和水果潘趣酒(泡在糖水中的綜合水果碗)是這裡的熱賣商品,使用時令水果製作,深受當地人和訪客的喜愛。這間店在日本明星當中也很有人氣,加上附近是國際學校及大使館的集散地,也不難見到外國人出沒這間店。店舖的合夥經營者曾經在代官山的藍帶廚藝學校待過四年,而她的甜點師技藝在山中屋完美地展現。有些甜點傳承自她的母親,像是人氣的焦糖烤蘋果。另外,這裡的無花果塔、水果布丁以及水果三明治,都很讓人值得一訪。

  • 地址:  東京都大田區田園調布2-50-1
  • 交通方式:  從東急東橫線、東急田園都市線的田園調布站步行1分鐘
  • 營業時間:  9:30 - 20:00
  • 定休日:  星期三、星期日(暫時)
  • 電話:  03-3721-2766
田園調布
田園調布
田園調布

雖然田園調布有不少甜點甜品店,這裡也有許多經典日式美食可以選擇。距離車站僅10分鐘的位置,是一間外觀傳統的壽司店「福壽司」。店內有吧台和桌椅座位區,以及榻榻米的個室用餐空間,穿過暖簾進到店內,顧客就會被竹莢魚的大型水缸所歡迎。竹夾魚是這間餐廳內的常見料理之一。在福壽司的菜單上能找到正統的料理像是握壽司和天婦羅,但讓福壽司從競爭對手當中脫穎而出的關鍵在於其特別的菜單,像是穴子(鰻魚)生魚片,以及炸竹莢魚頭。福壽司自1958年就滿足了許多田園調布大眾的味蕾,且直至今日仍人氣不減,是有原因的。最熱門的菜單為10貫壽司精選(廚師特選),只要2750日圓,價格非常合理。魚類都是由豐洲新鮮挑選,因此在福壽司,顧客保證能來上一頓難忘的美食體驗。

  • 地址:  東京都大田區田園調布1-47-1
  • 交通方式:  從東急東橫線、東急田園都市線的田園調布站步行10分鐘,或從二子玉川步行8分鐘
  • 營業時間:  11:30 - 22:00
  • 定休日:  星期二(每月一次星期三)
  • 電話:  03-3721-7387
田園調布
田園調布
田園調布

考量到這裡的富裕氛圍以及大量的僑民居住,田園調布擁有東京最佳的麵包店這件事,也許一點都不令人驚訝。由橫森あき子Akiko Yokomori所經營的est Panis自2010年開張,就絕對在每個麵包愛好者的名單上榜上有名。est Panis專賣鄉村麵包、法棍麵包以及黑麥麵包,吸引許多在當地的外國人、甚至是外地的人前來購買。橫森小姐曾在法國居住三年,開了est Panis來服務當地居民,並且經營烘焙教室(暫時休息)來傳授她在巴黎學習的餐飲經驗。橫森小姐在店的後方使用自己製作的蘋果酵母來製作每一道菜單。這裡的三明治、咖哩麵包、吐司以及其他商品,讓est Panis成為一間常客絡繹不絕、備受喜愛的麵包店。

  • 地址:  東京都大田區田園調布2-23-4
  • 交通方式:  從東急東橫線、東急田園都市線的田園調布站步行7分鐘
  • 營業時間:  10:30 - 16:00
  • 定休日:  星期日、星期一
  • 電話:  03-3721-5006
田園調布
田園調布
田園調布

田園調布是個迷人的地方。這裡淺顯易見的富裕程度和精緻度一點也不誇張。一旦來訪,那經驗就令人無法忘懷。您會發現不斷地想要再次來訪,並且探索那典雅的街道、當地小店,並且認識這裡熱情又好客的人們,才讓田園調布顯得如此特別。

分享

Travel Safe: Get our latest updates on COVID-19 in Japan View Updates

Skip to main content
Denenchofu

Denenchofu

Arriving at Denenchofu Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line is like entering another world. The architecture, refined cafes and atmosphere strikes you as you leave the beautifully ornate, and slightly grand, station building. You're immediately hit with such a sense of tranquility and harmony that it feels unimaginable that you're standing in one of the largest and most densely populated cities on earth.  

With its patrician ambience and uniform elegance, the small and hushed town of Denenchofu is, unsurprisingly, one of the most popular areas for the expat community in addition to celebrities, business leaders and politicians. Known as Tokyo's "garden suburb," the town located in Ota-ku is always highly ranked as one of the best places to live in the capital. 

It has an interesting history too as it was the brainchild of legendary Japanese industrialist Eiichi Shibusawa early last century and was modelled on the garden suburbs of London. So it's no surprise that Denenchofu has a tangible Britishness to its overall aesthetic and atmosphere. 

Denenchofu has a slate of independently owned businesses and the area, generally, eschews big name chains in favor of local operations which have been established for generations. One such store is Akebono which was established in 1932. It's a wagashi (traditional Japanese sweets) store which has been spoiling the people of Denenchofu for nearly 100 years with its homemade anko and treasure trove of traditional Japanese confectionery. With a deep-seated desire to give back to the local community, Akebono cherishes its position in the town and takes pride in the sweets they craft on the second floor of the space then selling them on the first floor with its subtle and charming wooden interior. Mirroring Japan's appreciation for seasons, Akebono crafts seasonal sweets such as sakura flavor in spring and kuri (chestnut) in autumn. The texture to the sweets and style may also slightly change to be in tune with the seasons which is itself a reflection of Akebono's attention to detail and Japanese culture. The store, although specializing in anko, also sells original sekihan (red bean rice) and snacks such as senbei (rice crackers) from other brands making Akebono a one stop shop for people with a sweet tooth. 

  • Address: 2-51-8, Denenchofu, Ota City, Tokyo
  • Access: 1-min walk from Denenchofu Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line, Tokyu Denentoshi Line
  • Hours: 9:00–18:30
  • Closed: Sundays
  • TEL: 3-3721-8886
Denenchofu
Denenchofu
Denenchofu

Another Denenchofu store that caters for sweet lovers is Yamanakaya, a popular fruit store with a dining area. Yamanakaya is very much a family business and is in its third generation with the store history dating back to the early 1930s. Customers come from far and wide to purchase the fresh fruit but also the beautifully prepared desserts on offer. The fruit jelly and fruit punch (a huge bowl of mixed fruit wrapped in syrup) are the biggest sellers and incorporate seasonal fruit which attracts locals and visitors to the area. The store is popular with Japanese celebrities and attracts a lot of foreign foot traffic due to the concentration of international schools and embassies nearby. Co-owner trained at Le Cordon Bleu culinary school in Daikanyama for four years and her intricate work as a patissier is proudly on display at Yamanakaya. Some of her selection of desserts have been handed down by her mother such as the popular yaki-ringo (baked apple with caramel). The fig tart, purin a la mode and fruit sandwiches are also worth the trip alone.

  • Address: 2-50-1, Denenchofu, Ota City, Tokyo
  • Access: 1-min walk from Denenchofu Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line, Tokyu Denentoshi Line
  • Hours 9:30–20:00
  • Closed: Wednesdays, Sundays (temporarily)
  • TEL: 03-3721-2766
Denenchofu
Denenchofu
Denenchofu

Although Denenchofu has its fair share of sweet and confectionery stores, it's also spoiled for choice in terms of more classic Japanese cuisine. Located about ten minutes from the station is Fuku Sushi, a traditional-looking sushi restaurant. With a counter and some tables, as well as a private tatami-decorated dining space, visitors are welcomed by, once entering through the noren curtain, a large water tank of aji (Japanese horse mackerel) which are often served in the restaurant itself. You will find the orthodox sushi menu items at Fuku such as nigiri and tempura but what sets Fuku apart from its competition is the slightly unusual dishes such as anago (seawater eel) sashimi and aji head karaage. Fuku has been feeding the good folk of Denenchofu since 1956 and there's a reason why it's still popular with locals today. The most popular menu choice is the selection of 10 pieces of sushi (omakase-style) for a very reasonable price of ¥2,750. Considering the fish is sourced from the market in Toyosu guests are guaranteed an unforgettable culinary experience at Fuku.

  • Address: 1-47-1, Denenchofu, Ota City, Tokyo
  • Access: 10-min walk from Denenchofu Station or 8-min walk from Tamagawa Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line, Tokyu Denentoshi Line 
  • Hours: 11:30–22:00
  • Closed: Tuesdays (Wednesday once a month)
  • TEL: 03-3721-7387
Denenchofu
Denenchofu
Denenchofu

It may come as no surprise, considering the affluent atmosphere and large number of expats in the local area, as Denenchofu is home to one of Tokyo's best boulangeries. Run by Akiko Yokomori est Panis has been on every bread-lover's radar since opening in 2010. Specializing in pain de campagne (a kind of French sourdough), baguettes and pain de seigle (rye bread), est panis attracts many foreign visitors in the area and from further afield in the capital. Yokomori, who lived in France for three years, opened est Panis to serve the local community as well as running cookery classes (currently on hiatus) to pass on her culinary experiences she learned in Paris. Yokomori uses apple yeast which she makes, along with every menu item, in the backroom of the store. Her sandwiches, curry pan, shoku pan and assortment of other goodies has turned est panis into a much-loved bakery with legions of regulars.

  • Address: 2-23-4, Denenchofu, Ota City, Tokyo
  • Access: 7-min walk from Denenchofu Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line, Tokyu Denentoshi Line
  • Hours: 10:30–16:00
  • Closed: Sundays, Mondays
  • TEL: 03-3721-5006
Denenchofu
Denenchofu
Denenchofu

Denenchofu is a charming and curious part of Tokyo. Its obvious affluence and sophistication is never ostentatious. It's strangely beguiling and once you make the visit there, the experience never really leaves you. You find yourself wanting to come back again and again and explore the quaint backstreets, local stores and to meet the welcoming and friendly people who make Denenchofu so special. 

Share